top of page

Still I Rise


Photo Credit: Sebastian Kappen

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

I came to Australia 3 years ago without speaking a word of English, but the struggle of communication and adjusting to the new culture did not stop me from achieving my goals.

My name is Benjamin Poveda, and I can proudly say that I am from Colombia. I left my country of birth in pursuit of a lifelong dream to connect with people and learn more in Australia, a country filled with vast diversity. As they say, a man has to have dreams for them to come true. My dream is to make the world a better place by influencing the youth.

With my very little knowledge of English, I enrolled in classes at Navitas English Darwin; a language school that I owe a big part of my achievements to, and always will be in my heart. They were the first place that welcomed me, accepted me as I was, taught me all I know about English, and gave me amazing opportunities to interact with people from everywhere in the world. In fact, they are the reason I am capable to write this article today.

I also realised that working in environments with a lot of communication would improve my English. Working in various restaurants, joining an Irish/English soccer team, and meeting new people and creating memorable relationships encouraged my learning. My enduring perseverance of wanting to know more, opened many opportunities to develop myself.

I started as a Senior Residential Advisor and then a Customer Service Coordinator at Unilodge Darwin. Where, after spending more than 2 years of my life, I got the understanding of diversity, enjoyed, learned and moulded myself along the way.

This journey lead me to a role as a Student Services Officer and Activities Coordinator at Navitas English Darwin, the organisation that had been supporting me since day one. What else could I ask? It was the opportunity I was hoping for: to be able to support, advise and connect with those students with language barriers, and then be capable to build their dreams’ base and pillars. It was a chance to assist students who faced similar challenges to me, so who better than me to be there to support them!

Communicating with international students in this environment really illuminated all their problems which prompted me to join clubs like CDU Ambassadors, working with Study NT. I realised that a lot of students really don’t know how much they can do in the University, so many opportunities are never experienced because there isn’t enough awareness of activities and their rights.This inspired me to commit myself to the cause of helping fellow international students.

I am pursuing my 3rd year in accounting at CDU and have started representing students and placing their voice forward as a CDU Student Ambassador and CPA Australia Student Ambassador. All these positions were steps to reaching the pinnacle of success. I was then handed over the role as a Student Ambassador for the Northern Territory through Study NT.

I will not forget July 2018. A stressful semester and a life changing conference in Cairns were just parts of it. I was elected as the National Secretary of the Council of International Students Australia (CISA). I felt relieved, all the seeds I have planted in my time in Australia are finally starting to grow. Through these experiences, I have learned a lot about what leadership isn’t. We are quick to identify those who hold presidencies and executive roles in student organisations as leaders and surely, being on an executive board for an organisation is an excellent way of honouring leadership skill. Leadership isn’t just organising events, making decisions and delegating tasks. It also means service to others and sharing experiences; with context to CISA, leadership means vibrancy of the student body and stimulating growth of incoming leaders.

Some advice for young leaders; I have come to understand that we are all destined for greatness, but it comes at its own time and when you are ready to embrace it. Always cherish moments and understand that this race is only about you. You own the race track, so run at the right pace. My journey has been an amazing roller coaster and I can’t even realise that I’m only halfway there. It was just like yesterday when I was one of many internationals with little English, facing culture shock and homesickness. The road to success is full of so many obstacles which will make you feel like you’ve failed, but I’ve always been taught to be optimistic and hopeful in every event of life. I came to Australia without the slightest idea I’d be in the midst of some of the most inspiring people, so despite language barriers and no cultural awareness, I’ve endured it all.

For that I thank my mother, for always reminding me that at the end of the tunnel there’s always light, and I will always illuminate. Not forgetting, Navitas, CDU Study NT, CDU Ambassadors, all the international students and, most importantly, my lovely partner. I’m truly honoured to be in this new position and I don’t take it lightly to represent a whole country. Much more success is coming, and I hope you will join me in my initiative to help students realise their full potential. God Bless!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page