top of page

BREATHE


Illustration by Arlya Tuckey

I was home alone and was enjoying the summery vibe in the air. It was hot, yes, but it wasn’t stifling as it so often is in the Northern Territory this time of the year. There was a breeze rustling through the trees that caused my hair to softly caress my cheeks. Birds chirped and even an owl deeply hooted somewhere close by. The crystal clear water soaked my body in temperate water. This was a perfect moment and I wanted to cherish it.

It is week 8 already. Just like that and more than half the semester is gone. Every week there are assignments due, and the study is never ending. Work is demanding at the moment because we are often understaffed. I am sore from the workout I did yesterday and hungry because I haven’t had time to eat yet.

This is a regular day for me, trying to juggle assignments, work demands, exercise, and my own everyday responsibilities. I have always thrived under pressure, I love the challenge of having so many things in the air, and I love the feeling of accomplishment that I get afterwards. But sometimes there is this thing that pulls me away from the balance I seem to have amidst the crazy thing I call life. It tugs at my emotions and creates barriers around my sanity so that I feel as though I have none. It pushes sleep away, and makes my brain tick endlessly with the pressures that I have in life. It crushes me and creates unfamiliar chaos in my already chaotic brain.

My unwelcome, unseen visitor makes me feel lost in a world of loneliness and sadness of the things in life that I cannot control; the things in life I cannot change. Sometimes I can’t breathe and feel it would be easier to let go and to sink into the mire that pulls you down.

But then I remember this day. This perfect moment in time. The sun on my face, the breeze in my hair, the water on my skin, and the sound of life all around, continuing to turn over and flourish despite everything around. And it reminds me that the clouds don’t remain forever, the bad days can only get better. And in these moments, it’s okay to forget the stress, let go of the pain, and just breath.

Arlya Tuckey is a second year Bachelor of Visual Arts student with a passion for all things creative, including music, art, and creative writing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page