top of page

VALE PAUL PHOLEROS

Only a few days into a Masters of Architecture I find myself researching policies surrounding Indigenous housing.

Previous to university my knowledge of Indigenous Australia was limited if not non-existent.

Not because of lack of interest, but more due to lack of exposure.

Growing up with Scottish parents was definitely a benefit; they had no ‘passed down through the generations’ prejudice.

On the flip side to this I was playing with kids who used ‘Coon’ to represent something to run away from – I thought maybe it was some mythological Australian creature that I was yet to be introduced to.

The information I uncovered through my research was confronting, eye opening and created a feeling of disappointment in this country I call home.

I came across an old episode of SBS Insight filmed in the Tangentyere community outside of Alice Springs. Politicians (past and present), community members and consultants came together to discuss the ‘issue’ of indigenous housing.

The conversation mainly revolved around community members and the former Indigenous Affairs Minister, Jenny Macklin, who made inconsequential offerings such as: “$100,000,000! We decided $50,000,000 wasn’t enough so we increased it to $100,000,000!”

Towards the end of the show, a gentleman (and never has this word been more true) who had been working in remote indigenous communities for 30 years is asked his opinion:

“New houses are easy to photograph. Underground pipe work, things that actually make houses work are hard to photograph. Kitchens that work, all the things people talk about, showers that work, places in a house where you can cook a meal, have a shower, use a toilet. Those things, to get them working is far less sexy, far less glamorous than a new house which you can take a picture of.”

It was at this moment that I knew which side of the conversation I wanted to be on. Through Paul, and the work of Health Habitat, my chosen career path finally began to make sense. I began to see how the knowledge of architecture could have a positive impact for the most disadvantaged people in Australia.

When I graduated from my Masters I had very little idea of what I wanted to pursue. All I could think was Paul Pholeros.

I emailed Paul and he said if I was ever in Sydney to contact him. I had never been to Sydney in my life…so it was time.

I brought a portfolio of work, I had rehearsed interview questions with my mum over the phone, I was ready. However, the question of my worth is not what was brought to the table. Paul ever so humbly enquires, “So, I have to ask, how did you hear about us?”

This was not one of the questions I had rehearsed.

I explained that his responses on Insight made me aware of his obvious, yet cleverly veiled, knowledge of the issues surrounding Indigenous Housing. Ironically he informs me that my perception of diplomacy was actually a heavy restriction of confidentiality clauses.

I express my personal challenges within architecture and my overwhelming interest in people, how people move, live, work, interact rather than the buildings that house them.

Paul yet again clarifies it for me “We, as architects, first and foremost concern ourselves with people. That concern 9 out of 10 times results in a building, but the initial interest should always be people.”

He went on to tell me that his work is heavily dependant on government funding. He explained the arduous task of having to fire almost 900 employees, mostly local Indigenous people, in one day. There is work happening in NSW through the Health Department due to their extensive research and proof that people’s environment has a huge effect on their health, but still minimal. This unfortunately means no room for me.

He left me with a list of architecture firms that try to involve themselves in work with Indigenous communities when it’s available. And permission to use his name to get my foot in the door – priceless!

It was with the name of Paul Pholeros (or PP as most people seem to refer to him) that got me in the door at Troppo Architects, my architectural home.

I continued to stay in contact with Paul over the years reminding him of my interest in his work and he was always encouraging that such opportunity would come one day.

On the first of February 2016 Paul Pholeros sadly passed away at the age of 63. I found out through a slightly vague Instagram post, which I couldn’t really believe at first, and then absolutely wept.

I recognise there are many people much closer to Paul who will have felt the effects of this loss greater than me, but, in these moments of grief we cannot help but fall to thoughts of our loss.

Unlike most, I am not grieving the loss of Paul in my past, I am not grieving his presence in my present, I am grieving the loss of the future. I always had it in my head that one day I would have the opportunity to learn from him and continue the work that he started. But it is not just my future that I am grieving. It is the loss of the future impact he would most surely have had. I am grieving for the many more people he could have, and would have, helped.

The Australian community does not realise the impact this loss will have on our first nations people, but that is all the more reason for us to keep his work alive. As Phil and Adrian from Troppo Architects reminded us, “The torch will be carried on, for he has taught us well – but how well and with what authority is the question, and, for all of us, our individual challenge.”

Katy Moir is a graduate of architecture with Troppo Architects.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page